Early Years


Early Years Curriculum

Children in Early Years follow the statutory requirements and guidance of DfE Early Years Foundation Stage.  This covers the seven areas of learning:

  1. Communication and Language
  2. Physical Development
  3. Personal, social and emotional development
  4. Literacy
  5. Mathematics
  6. Understanding the World
  7. Expressive arts and design

In the Nursery, the curriculum is delivered through indoor and outdoor activities in the house and garden. Occasional use is made of the school playground and field, the hall and the computer room.  Nursery children attend whole school assemblies and services when it is felt appropriate.

For more information on the Nursery curriculum, click here.

Once in Reception children continue to follow the requirements of the Early Years Foundation Stage within a classroom setting.

Communication between the school and parents is regarded as a priority and takes place both informally, as required, and formally at two parents' evenings and through two written reports, each year.